Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

There are very few bands I like, even less that I’d care to go see live, but Caravan Palace is definitely high on my list. I remember hearing about nearly 5 years ago during my first trip up to NYC to see Emilie Simon. I pocketed one of the flyers littering the venue with other upcoming French acts I found at the bar. “Caravan Palace eh? Maybe I’ll give em a listen” I thought to myself.

When I got home, I listened to one song of theirs “Suzy” and was instantly hooked! What an incredible, unique sound! I pride myself on finding good music, and this was an absolute treasure.

I’ve been a fan since that night, but unfortunately as a band based in France, I’ve never had a chance to see them perform.

Fast forward to the end of my trip. Returning home after months of travel is never easy, in fact, it usually throws me into a pit of depression. This time however, a friend of mine clued me into Caravan Palace playing within my first week back. This would not only be the first time I’d be seeing them live, but also a marvelous way to transition back into being home.

Without hesitation, my ticket was bought!

20130625_222600

The concert was absolutely amazing. The energy was incredible, the performance? Even better! It was easily one of the best concerts I’ve ever been too. Below is the official video from their tour, highlighting the Philadelphia show.

Afterward the friend and I parked ourselves outside of the venue and caught up for a bit. He was one of my favorite people going back to my high school and we hadn’t seen each other for years. It was nice to have some extended time to chat.

20130625_234605

Mid conversation however, the female lead, Zoe came out to start loading up her things onto the tour bus. She seemed to be in a hurry, as most artists are after a shown, so I didn’t make a move to approach her. I watched as she nestled her remaining bags under the bus, stood up with a sigh of relief, then turned to look in my exact direction. We eye locked. Heart flutter.

I felt like I had some silly dumbfounded smile on my face, but much to my surprise she returned the smile with one of her own. Not only that, but she followed it up with a wink before disappearing onto the bus.

Aww!

What a great night 🙂

See Caravan Palace live

~M

