Tags

, , , , , , , ,

-Get camera back. (Brother’s stolen camera seemed to appear the night before in the hands of someone showing off his artwork)

-Stop in the market to get supplies for a small gathering.

-Say goodbye to our lovely French couple.

-Head to the city, find a room

– Go to the Intiraymi festival I’ve been waiting for and dance it out

That was the plan at least. Unfortunately, the supposed stolen camera we located the night before ended up not being my brother’s stolen camera after all. As hyped up as I was to get the camera back, my hopes were extinguished when the man in question brought down the retail box the camera came in. Disappointed, I we headed into the market to find something to cook for the gathering.

The gathering was rather large actually, some familiar faces, some new. This meeting would serve as a proper send off to one of my favorite couples I’ve had the pleasure of meeting down here. I’ve heard how lovely they were before I took this trip, and now I can attest to that and much, much more. I’m sad to see them go, but I’m excited for the day when our paths cross again.

As we took our leave to prepare for the hour long trip it took to get to the city, two things happened: I reserved a spot in the upcoming trip to the natural hot springs (next entry) and it seemed as though it wouldn’t just be my brother and I heading to the festival. A fellow psytrance fan and one of the many familiar faces I’ve met in ceremonies and around the area, a charming young lady from Venezuela, would be coming with us.

The sun had already set behind the mountains by the time we were ready (and by the time I picked my hair out.)

Image

The original plan was to take a taxi, but how fortuitous, one of the guys living at the guesthouse was going that way and offered us a ride. Into his VW bus and off we went!

The trip went well…. until we reached the festival grounds and they were empty. Pitch black. Nothing but portable bathrooms and small patches of people looking lost and confused. Luckily the brother had his wireless stick and computer and we found where the party had been moved. We picked up one of the stragglers and headed into the city. But not before we were locked in a head on stalemate between our van and a taxi driver who seemed to be completely absent during the predicament.

Strangest thing ever…

The road was too small to pass as things were at that moment, if only the taxi driver would move over a little bit…but for some reason, he refused to look at us. Flashing the lights, waving out the window, honking the horn. This guy would not make eye contact. We’re essentially car grill to car grill and the other driver would not commit to looking in our direction. He just stared, oddly, into his mirror with no sense of survivability or severity.

“Is he dead?” was the question laughed throughout the van. No idea what his issue was, but it seemed as though the other driver had resolved himself to staying there for the rest of his life. He must have thought, “Well, this is all too much for me, I better start a new life here”

He refused to move, or even acknowledge us. He just stared, completely expressionless. It wasn’t until another taxi driver came up and took control of the situation that we eventually made it passed the shell of a human that was seated in the other vehicle.

We eventually made it to the hostel and YES! There were rooms. My brother and I had a minor flashback to a night in New Zealand, when we tried to get a room when something big like this was happening in Wellington, but with no luck. Everywhere was full, we had to go climb a mountain and sleep in a tent at the top (not a bad alternative, but still).

With rooms situated, the three of us ran back to the waiting VW and headed to the new location.

Tickets taken, into the party we went. It went from 9pm to 2pm the next day. It was already 9:30; 30min late?! Unacceptable!!!!! We had to make up for lost time…

So the three of us danced. And danced it out hard. This is my favorite kind of ceremony right here. In the center of the crowd, surrounded by people from around the world, speakers blasting some hard-hitting electronic music. Yes.

Image

Met a lot of good people too. Oddly enough, I met about 6-7 people from New Jersey there. Also, I dunno who invited “Too drunk to dance guy” and “too intoxicated to have a conversation without repeating the same questions girl” to the Peru, but they are here if anyone is looking for them.

We danced it out as long as we could before retiring to the line of taxis waiting outside. Thankfully our driver wasn’t undead, and we made it back to our rooms for a proper pass out.

Dance to some psytrance in Peru

Try, and fail, to out dance a Russian girl

Dance at the Intriyami Festival

~M

