Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Wednesday night gave me a whole host of new experiences. Mindless Self Indulgence, one of my all time favorite bands, was touring once again.  The last time I saw them was years ago, up in NYC after I was lucky enough to be an extra in one of their music videos. I actually thought that was the last tour, that the band would be finished since the members started getting married and having babies.

BUT ALAS! Not quite! And Wednesday night I found myself waiting in line with fellow fans, on the outskirts of Chinatown in Philadelphia.

Photobucket

The Trocadero, the concert hall I’ve always heard about but never actually experienced myself, happens to be my first of the firsts that night.

Photobucket

Nice place. Typical concert venue, yet with its own certain appeal. Really loved the seated upper balcony (even if security said you had to sit if you were up top. lame!?), and the carved stone throughout the place.

Photobucket

Photobucket

As I navigated and explored the building, I’d find little pockets of familiar faces. Friends from over the years scattered throughout, even a few faces from that glorious day in Brooklyn when we did the vid. I liked this place. I’d like to see more shows here.

Photobucket

See a show at the Trocadero

#2 on my list of firsts came from the spritely redhead Chantal, singer of Morningwood, and also wife to MSI’s Jimmy. I’ve seen her backstage and around at other MSI concerts, but this was the first time I’ve seen her band perform. Pretty good set, the bassist absolutely killed it.

Photobucket

See Morningwood live

#3. Ohhhh number 3. Mindless Self Indulgence themselves. I’ve seen them twice before, but this was the first time Philadelphia. And what a show it was. This was easily their best performance for me.

Photobucket

EVERY song was a favorite. Songs from their latest album, and songs from way back. They played a song I haven’t heard in almost 10 years, used to blast it when I was driving to high school! I’m pretty sure I looked like this for the better half of the night.

Photobucket

The whole show was as crazy as ever. From Jimmy’s onstage resurrection of Whitney Houston, to Kitty musically and beautifully destroying my ears with her drumsticks.

Photobucket

See Mindless Self Indulgence in Philadelphia

#4 came in the form of sharpie on skin. I’m not really one of the ravenous fans who face pushes little kids while foaming at the mouth to get an autograph (Really happened, minus the foam. Actually, there may have been foam) but when the band appeared after the crowd thinned out I figured eh, why not.

But what would they sign!?! “Not my ticket stub, I don’t really have anything else though….”, just then the rabid girl to my left forced through the crowd, smashed her boobs together and begged for a signature across the skin spilling out of her corset. “Hmm, not quite an equal alternative…..but it’ll work.”

Photobucket

I missed Jimmy unfortunately, but the conversation and the fascination LynZ had with my afro more than made up with it. As she ran her fingers through my hair, completely enthralled by its allure, I knew, at that moment, that we were meant to be together…

…haaaa! Not really. But seriously. She liked it. Quick chat with Kitty and Steve before I made my way to the door, much to the delight of the security guards who were having little success with clearing the place out. Ran into Chantal at the door and asked if she would add to the toxic ink already permeating my skin.

Photobucket
Photobucket

Have a favorite band sign my body

I took my leave, saying goodbye to the polite ticket lady and ventured back into the empty streets of Philadelphia.

Good times. Good firsts.

~M

