Tags

, , , ,

I’ve never really been a big anime fan, never really had much interest in any of the story lines or characters. That was until a few years ago when I saw a late night commercial on cartoon network for the American debut of the show Full Metal Alchemist. Being one fascinated by the chemistry of the world, and the allure of its alchemic routes, my interest was definitely piqued.

The show itself definitely lived up the my expectations. After being wow’d by the original series and the reboot that was recently released (brotherhood) I’ve become quite a diehard FMA fan. I can’t quite express my excitement when I stumbled onto some information that stated a new FMA movie was being released to follow up the conclusion of Brotherhood.

Days, months, and the better half of a year passed as I waited for the American release (and stalked torrent sites everywhere for an earlier released Japanese version) until the day finally arrived.

In a small, antique, theater on the outskirts of the city is where we set our story. I enter to find a tiny lobby bustling with people. I thoroughly enjoy walking into a subculture that others might not understand if they were in my position, that feeling of comradely with complete strangers.

As we took our seats however, my enjoyment of their company started to slip away. I take my movie watching very seriously and the squeal of joy mixed with the narration of the film by the girls behind me, kinda dampened the experience for me. I like to be engrossed in the film, especially if it’s something I’ve been dying to see for a long time, and all that distraction kinda pulled me out, but I didn’t sit and sulk about it. The movie itself was ok, but to be brutally honest, it wasn’t really up to the standard the series set. It seemed like a third party interpretation with the Full Metal Alchemist title pasted on top.

The experience however, is what I went for. As I walked out of the theater amongst the giddy fans, I had to pause and smile to myself. This was something I really wanted to do for myself, and even if things didn’t fit into my comfort zone, I went, and I did it.

Time to check that one off the list! Seeing an anime film in a theater.

~M

